Aufau International Award 2016 | Lifetime Achievement Award | Physical Sciences

Dr. A. Thiruvalluvar  Ph.D., MRSC

Associate Professor

PG & Research Department of Physics

Rajah Serfoji Government College

Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu, India


I was born on 7th September 1961, to Mrs. A. Amali and Mr. P. Aravazhiamalan, at Maraneri Village, Thanjavur District, Tamil Nadu. Had my primary education at Government Adi-Dravidar Welfare Schools and my schooling at Little Flower High School, Kumbakonam. I have done my PUC, B.Sc., and M.Sc., at St. Joseph’s College, Tiruchirappalli, and M.Phil., Ph.D., and PGDCA at Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli. I joined the Government Collegiate service on 11th March 1985 FN as an Assistant Professor. Then I became a Lecturer. Then I was promoted to Senior Lecturer on 3rd June 1992. Then promoted to Reader on 3rd June 1998. Then promoted to Associate Professor (this is the highest designation in our college) on 1st January 2006. I undertake teaching and research for B.Sc., M.Sc., M.Phil., and Ph.D., students. So far I have guided 37 M.Phil., and 8 Ph.D., scholars. At present I am a Reviewer of the Journal of Crystallography, Chemical Science and Review and Letters, Global Journal of Chemistry and Journal of Advances in Chemistry.

Served as the Member-Coordinator of the College University Grants Commission (UGC) committee from 1997 to 2014. Served as the Department Library i/c from 22nd January 2002 to 20th July 2007. Served as the coordinator for the college and the Teacher in-charge for our Department in successfully conducting Remedial Coaching for SC/ST/OBC (non-creamy layer) & Minorities for UG & PG students during UGC XI Plan (14 Merged Schemes) for the period 2007-2012.

Received the Best Teacher Award, National Citizenship Gold Medal Award, Indira Gandhi Sadbhavna Gold Medal Award, Bharat Gaurav Award, Glory of India Gold Medal, Bharat Vidya Siromani Gold Medal Award, Dr. Radhakrishnan Gold Medal Award, Bharat Shiksha Ratan Award, Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam Gold Medal Award, Mahatma Gandhi Ekta Samman Award & Indo-Dubai Achiever’s Pacific Award – 2014.